Retractable Cable Power Banks: What Happens When It Breaks

Retractable-cable power banks from UGREEN, Baseus and Anker: what the cable is rated for, whether it shares the power budget, and what the warranty covers.

Published: August 19, 2026 Updated: August 19, 2026 GadgetHub Editorial
Compact USB-C GaN wall charger
Disclosure: this article contains affiliate links (Amazon Associates and impact.com). We earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Specs and prices are manufacturer-published or retailer-listed as of August 2026 and change. We do not run our own lab tests.

What the built-in cable actually is

A retractable cable is a USB-C cable wound on a spring drum inside the housing, with a ratchet that locks at set lengths and releases on a pull. Three things about it are fixed at the factory: how far it extends, how many watts it is rated to carry, and what happens to the other ports when you use it. Anker publishes all three in a clean table on its US page. UGREEN publishes two of three. Baseus publishes the least, and both of its US retractable flagships were listed as sold out when we checked.

UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 165WBaseus EnerCore CR11 20000mAh 100WAnker Laptop Power Bank 25K 165W (A1695)UGREEN Nexode 65W Retractable ChargerBaseus EnerCore CJ11 100W Charger
US list price$99.99$69.99 (reg. $79.99)$119.99$49.99 (on sale $40.06)$59.99 (reg. $69.99)
Capacity20000mAh, 72Wh20000mAh (Wh not stated on US page)25000mAh, 90Wh
Retractable cable rating100Wup to 100W (single port or cable)100W60W (20V/3A)100W
Cable lengthabout 0.65m / 25in (reviews; not on UGREEN US page)70cm / 27.6in stated for the 67W CR11; 100W page silent70cm / 27.6in0.7m80cm stated for the 67W CJ11; 100W page silent
Other outputs1× USB-C 100W, 1× USB-A 33Wfixed USB-C cable + USB-C + USB-A (Baseus press materials)fixed USB-C cable 100W, USB-C port 100W, USB-A 33WUSB-C 65W, USB-A 22.5WUSB-C + USB-A
Two-output split100W + 65Wnot published165W any two USB-C; 133W USB-C + USB-A65W total sharednot published
Pull-test claimnot on US page (10,000 cited in teardown coverage)30,000+ (EnerCore series page)20,000 retractionsnot stated30,000+ (EnerCore series page)
Weight~535g / 18.9oznot stated for 100W; 13.9oz for 67W model595g / 21oz195gnot stated
Warranty24 months18–24 months18 months24 months18–24 months

Sources are the US product pages at us.ugreen.com, baseus.com and anker.com, the Anker and Baseus warranty pages, ChargerLab’s PB726 teardown and Macworld’s CR11 review. Where a cell says “not published” it means we could not find the number on an official page, not that the product lacks the feature.

Rated watts: the cable is sometimes the slow port

The easiest mistake is to assume the retractable cable carries the headline wattage. On the two power banks it does: UGREEN rates the retractable cable at 100W, and UGREEN’s own bullet text confirms the bank splits 100W + 65W when both USB-C outputs are busy, with the cable on the 100W side according to ChargerLab’s teardown. Anker rates all three of its USB-C outputs, retractable cable included, at 100W.

On UGREEN’s 65W wall charger the situation flips. The spec table lists the built-in cable at 5V/3A through 20V/3A, which is 60W, while the separate USB-C port lists 20V/3.25A, which is 65W. The difference is 5W, which does not matter for a phone and barely matters for a MacBook Air, but it does mean the cable you paid extra for is not the best port on the device. UGREEN’s page does not publish a per-combination allocation table for this unit; it says power is “split optimally” and the total is 65W shared, which one customer review on the same page confirms in plain terms.

Baseus says the CJ11 100W delivers 100W from the cable and describes “smart power allocation,” but its US product page has no spec table at all — only four bullet points and a sold-out button. For the CR11 100W bank, Baseus’s press materials describe two integrated cables, one retractable, with a 100W maximum from any single cable or port. How the 100W is shared when two devices are attached is not stated anywhere we could find on an official page. If you care about multi-device splits, that absence is the answer.

Check the UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 165W retractable on Amazon

Check the UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 165W retractable on UGREEN.com

Does the cable share the budget? Yes, always

None of these products gives the retractable cable its own power supply. It is one output among several, drawing from the same converter, and the total is capped.

Anker is the most explicit. Its A1695 page states 165W across any two USB-C outputs, 133W across a USB-C output plus USB-A, and with three or four devices attached, 100W on USB-C1 with 30W shared across everything else. That last line is the one to remember: plug in a laptop plus two phones plus earbuds and the laptop still gets 100W, but the other three share 30W between them. UGREEN publishes a cleaner but shorter version: 165W total, 100W + 65W when two USB-C outputs run at once. It does not publish a three-output split on the US page, and the USB-A port’s 33W rating is a single-port maximum. On the 65W charger, 65W is the whole budget for all three outputs combined.

This is the same reading exercise as any multi-port charger, which we walked through in our Anker vs UGREEN vs Baseus charger comparison. The retractable cable does not change the rule. It only changes which physical output you tend to reach for first.

Durability: the numbers exist, but they are the makers’ own

Every retractable cable has a failure mode a loose cable does not: the spring, the ratchet and the spool all wear, and the cable flexes at the same point near the housing every time it goes in and out. The makers know this and publish cycle counts, though only from internal testing.

Anker is the clearest. Its support page for the Nano retractable bank lists a 20,000-cycle swing test and a 20,000-cycle pull test, and notes that at 20 uses a day that is roughly three years. The same 20,000-retraction figure appears in Anker’s product copy for the 25K bank. Baseus states on its EnerCore series page that the line “endured 30,000+ pulling tests,” without breaking the figure out per product. UGREEN’s US page for the 165W bank does not publish a pull-test count; ChargerLab’s teardown of the same model (PB726) reports a 10,000-pull figure, and UGREEN’s page does state that the battery cells retain 70% health after 1,000 charge cycles, which is a different number about a different part.

Treat all of these as vendor figures, not independent results; no regulator or standards body certifies retraction cycles. What you can say is that 20,000 cycles at 20 pulls a day comfortably outlasts the warranty, which matters because of the next section.

When the cable fails: warranty terms, and then nothing

The cable is not user-replaceable on any of these products. Once it fails, you own a slightly heavier, slightly pricier power bank or charger with one fewer output. So the warranty is the whole protection.

UGREEN publishes a 24-month limited warranty on everything sold through us.ugreen.com and authorized channels, with exclusions for misuse, missing proof of purchase and unauthorized resellers; the remedy is replacement. Anker’s spec sheet for the A1695 lists 18 months. Baseus’s US warranty page states 18 to 24 months for orders placed from January 2024, and adds that the service route depends on the channel you bought through. None of the three publishes a separate, shorter term for the cable mechanism, so the retractable part is covered like the rest of the unit — but coverage still ends at two years at most.

Compare that with a standalone 240W cable. UGREEN’s USB4 240W cable carries the same 24-month warranty and a published 10,000-bend rating; if it dies in year three, the replacement is $26.99, not a new power bank. Baseus’s 240W cable is $12.99 for 3.3ft. That is the real cost of the “cable you can’t replace”: not that it breaks sooner, but that when it does, the repair is the whole product.

Check the Baseus EnerCore CR11 20000mAh 100W on Amazon

Check the Baseus EnerCore CR11 20000mAh 100W on Baseus.com

Weight, size and travel: where retractable earns its place

The spool and ratchet take room. UGREEN’s 165W retractable bank is about 535g including the cable, at 114 × 54 × 50mm by UGREEN’s figures. Anker’s 25K retractable is 595g and 157 × 54 × 49mm, with two built-in cables and 90Wh instead of 72Wh. The cells, not the spool, are most of that weight, but the mechanism adds bulk in the one dimension that matters for a bag side pocket. On the charger side the penalty is clearer: UGREEN’s 65W retractable is 195g and a 53 × 50.9 × 50.4mm cube, while its plain 65W 3-port Nexode lists at $23.99 with no spool. You pay about $26 more for never hunting for a cable.

Check the UGREEN Nexode 65W retractable charger on Amazon

Check the plain UGREEN Nexode 65W 3-port charger on Amazon

Check the UGREEN Nexode 65W 3-Port on UGREEN.com

The strongest case for the premium is the one the marketing makes: airports, trains, hotel nightstands, anywhere you charge a phone from a bank in your lap and a loose 1m cable is an annoyance. A 65–70cm retractable cable reaches from a bag at your feet to a phone in your hand and is one fewer item to leave in a seat pocket.

Two checks for flyers. First, watt-hours: the FAA allows power banks up to 100Wh in carry-on without airline approval, 101–160Wh with approval and a two-unit limit, and nothing in checked bags. The UGREEN 165W bank is 72Wh and the Anker 25K is 90Wh, both under the line. Baseus does not print a Wh figure on the CR11 100W US page; 20000mAh at a 3.6V nominal cell voltage works out to about 72Wh, but read the printed Wh on the housing before you fly. Second, length: 65–70cm is fine for a phone but short for a laptop that is not sitting next to the bank. For that you still want the separate 240W cable.

The counter-case is a desk, where the retractable cable adds nothing a $13 cable does not and the charger-side units give up a few watts on the cable port to fit the spool. Our USB-C cables explained guide covers what the 240W and e-marker labels mean.

The bring-your-own-cable path

If you decide against the retractable premium, the alternative is a plain charger or bank plus one cable rated higher than anything you will plug into it.

UGREEN’s USB4 Gen4 240W USB-C cable (1m, $26.99) is overspecified for charging — 80Gbps data, 240W PD3.1, e-marker, 10,000-bend rating, 24-month warranty — and doubles as a Thunderbolt 4/USB4 data cable. It was listed as sold out on UGREEN’s US store when we checked.

Baseus’s USB-C 240W cable is the budget version: $12.99 for 3.3ft, $14.99 for 6.6ft, $16.99 for 10ft, PD3.1 at 48V/5A with an e-marker, 480Mbps data only. For charging it does the same job.

Check the UGREEN USB4 240W USB-C cable on Amazon

Check the UGREEN USB4 240W cable 1m on UGREEN.com

Check the Baseus 240W USB-C cable on Amazon

Check the Baseus 240W USB-C cable on Baseus.com

Who should buy what

Buy the UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 165W retractable if you want the best-documented retractable bank at the lowest price among the three: 100W on the cable, a published 100W + 65W split, 72Wh under the flight line, and a 24-month warranty. Accept that the pull-test figure is not on UGREEN’s own page and that 535g is heavy.

Buy the Anker Laptop Power Bank 25K 165W if you want the clearest allocation table and the most published durability data (20,000 retractions), and you can live with 595g, an 18-month warranty and $119.99. Two built-in cables means you may never carry a loose one.

Buy the Baseus EnerCore CR11 100W only if the $69.99 price is the deciding factor and you find it in stock; Baseus publishes the 30,000-pull claim but almost nothing else about the 100W model on its US page. Verify the Wh on the box before flying.

Buy the UGREEN 65W retractable charger if you travel light with a phone and a small laptop and lose cables; know that the built-in cable is the 60W port, the separate USB-C is the 65W one, and everything shares 65W.

Skip the Baseus CJ11 100W charger until Baseus publishes a spec table or it comes back in stock; a plain 100W charger plus the $12.99 Baseus 240W cable gives you more information and a replaceable cable for about the same money.

Buy the plain charger plus a 240W cable if your charger lives at a desk, if you already own good cables, or if the idea of a product that becomes one port poorer in year three bothers you. It is cheaper, lighter, and the replacement part costs $13–27.

Check the Anker Laptop Power Bank 25K 165W on Amazon

More charging guides are on gadget-hub.jp English.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How many watts does the built-in retractable cable actually carry?
A: It depends on the product, and it is often less than the headline number. UGREEN's 20000mAh 165W bank rates its retractable cable at 100W, but UGREEN's 65W retractable wall charger rates the cable at 60W while the separate USB-C port on the same unit does 65W. Anker's 25K bank rates its retractable cable at 100W. Read the per-port spec, not the box.
Q: How long do the retractable cables last?
A: Only the makers' own test figures exist. Anker publishes a 20,000-retraction pull test and a 20,000-swing test for its retractable banks. Baseus states its EnerCore series endured 30,000+ pulling tests. UGREEN's US product page for the 165W bank does not state a pull-test number, though a 10,000-pull figure appears in third-party teardown coverage. None of these are independent lab results.
Q: What happens if the built-in cable breaks after the warranty?
A: Nothing good. None of these products has a user-replaceable cable, so a dead retractable cable turns the product into a normal power bank or charger with one fewer port. UGREEN publishes a 24-month warranty, Anker lists 18 months on the 25K bank, and Baseus states 18 to 24 months depending on channel. After that, you are carrying the weight of a cable you cannot use.
Q: Can I take these power banks on a US flight?
A: The FAA allows power banks up to 100Wh in carry-on without airline approval and prohibits them in checked bags. The UGREEN 20000mAh 165W bank is 72Wh and the Anker 25K is 90Wh, both under the limit. Baseus publishes 20000mAh for the CR11 but we could not find a Wh figure on its US page; a 20000mAh pack at 3.6V works out to around 72Wh.
Q: Is it cheaper to just buy a good cable?
A: Usually. UGREEN's 65W retractable charger lists at $49.99 while its plain 65W 3-port charger lists at $23.99, a $26 gap. A Baseus 240W 3.3ft cable is $12.99 and a UGREEN USB4 240W 1m cable is $26.99. The retractable premium buys convenience and removes one thing to forget, not more power.